Hot Pink Grill

I was going to a film screening in Wimbledon several weeks ago and needed somewhere to eat beforehand. A little Google sniffing resulted in some wildly mediocre offerings until Hot Pink Grill swept up under my nose. I’ve been all about the grills these past few months, so to say I was excited would be an understatement and I wondered why I hadn’t heard about it before (I’m still not sure why because it’s great concept. Truly.)

Double cheese burger, £11

Double cheese burger, £11

It’s a very simple, streamlined menu where you a pick a protein, a side and a sauce for a fixed price (a price dependent on what main protein you pick). In essence, it allows you to go as healthy or as unhealthy as you wish – they have everything through from salads to sausages.

wpid-20131020_182529.jpg

My friend and I both knew we wanted burgers so he went ahead and ordered.

2013-10-20 18_4

I, on the other hand, am one of those annoying people that sets out to have a burger and at that last minute when I’m asked what type of bun I’d like, I opt for the whole wheat in an effort to be ‘healthy’. There is absolutely no point to this. Like there’s no point in having a Coke Zero with your quadruple cheeseburger with extra large fries. None whatsoever. But that didn’t stop me from making this gargantuan mistake.

Double cheese burger in a whole wheat bun

Double cheese burger in a whole wheat bun

I soon learned that whole wheat buns are undeniably chewy (not ideal when you’re rushing to make a movie) and completely alter the taste of a burger. Don’t ever try it; you’ve been warned.

2013-10-20 18_2

So the actual meat was great; juicy and oozing. I literally inhaled it. And I think it’s pretty damned good value to have two patties as standard. The burger came with a side of coleslaw, and the house fries were also good, sprinkled with one of their quirky shakers.

2013-10-20 18_1

So I very shamefully went to Hot Pink Grill again only four days later. In my defence, another film screening (the cinema in Wimbledon is very popular for these). I tried to conceal my face with my hair so the staff wouldn’t recognise me, but not too sure how successful I was. This time around I opted for the steak and I encouraged my sister to try the burger I’d had last time.

8oz sirloin steak, £13

8oz sirloin steak, £13

The steak was nice enough but I had to admit that it looked rather lonely on my plate next to the sprig of watercress. And it also came dry. Actually, no, that’s a lie – I ordered a garlic and herb sauce that I didn’t love so it FELT like it was dry. That’s really not OK. The restaurant does, however, offer your regular fare of condiments (with some interesting variations).

2013-10-24 22_5

2013-08-22 19.41.26

So, all in all, I’d definitely recommend this place. I think it’s nice to have the option of decent burger joint on the west (ish) side of London.

2013-10-24 22_6

 

wpid-20131024_225947.jpg

 

Update: Since my visits to Hot Pink Grill, their menu has changed in terms of pricing/ordering.

 

