Winkel 43, Amsterdam

Amsterdam in the spring time; a very cold but sunny morning. My friends and I stumbled upon this cute little cafe in the Jordaan district that was not only packed to the brim with people but had a fast moving line of customers snaking out of the door. Curious, we joined the queue. A very friendly Dutch man (FYI all Dutch people are friendly) in front of us overheard our musings and kindly informed us that Winkel 43 serves the best apple pie in the country. He wasn’t kidding.

SAM_2415

The pie-slicing operation behind the counter is down to a military precision and we opted to have ours with hot chocolate that came in tall glass cups. We were served in record time and miraculously managed to quickly nab a corner of a table inside.

SAM_2414_1

The pie was pure deliciousness. Not too sweet with a nice cinnamon-y taste, and a buttery, crumbly base and crust. The mountain of whipped cream made it all nice and moist and coupled with the hot chocolate, it was perfect for a cold Saturday morning in spring. Can’t recommend enough.

SAM_2421_1

winkel43

SAM_2424I honestly can’t remember how much it cost. But I think I paid 16Euros for everything, which I think is very reasonable. I’m sure the outside terrace would be amazing in the warmer months, and as it’s located right by Noordermarkt, you can’t help but go and snoop around the different cheeses. Or indeed the hash lollipops.

Noordermarkt

Noordermarkt

Light afternoon snackette - trying not to let the grammatical errors bother me too much

Light afternoon snackette – trying not to let the grammatical errors bother me too much

