Caravan King’s Cross

I don’t think I have a good enough excuse to explain how disgustingly long it’s been since I last posted on here. You’d be forgiven for thinking I had just stopped eating and had wasted away. That is far from the truth. I am still eating. A lot. This eating is perhaps what has made me so unbelievably lazy. I have so many eating experiences to share so might as well get started.

Loungy Lunch

Loungy Lunch

I had a nice and pretentious breakfast at Caravan King’s Cross yesterday morning. Woke up at the crack of dawn (9:15) on a Saturday morning to meet my friend for brunch at 10:30. Purely sinful to be up and about at that time on a Saturday, but we soon learned that this early rise was probably a good idea.

Caravan: interior

Caravan: interior

Caravan is located behind King’s Cross and St. Pancras stations in the newly converted old Granary Building. It’s a large, cavernous, warehouse-like space with the usual exposed brick, industrial lights and metal. We were told it would be a 15 minute wait for a table and were given this (fake) bag of flour with our number on it which we carried with us to the bar.

cara1

Probably the first time I’ve ever drank tea at a bar.

cara2

Soon after we were seated the place started to get incredibly crowded (and by the time we left it was positively bursting with people and I’m sure the wait was an hour+) but it still managed to feel quite intimate. I sat on a long banquette covered with (heavy) woolly cushions, conducive to lounging. It was quite a varied crowd: along with the hipsters sat young parents and their (too young to be in this type of restaurant) children.

SAM_2306

It has to be said that the tea wasn’t as hot as it should have been and got progressively colder before I’d even had a chance to really start eating. So; the food. I have to admit that I’m more of an American brunch kinda person, so wasn’t instantly grabbed by anything on the menu, but eventually settled for baked eggs with a tomato pepper ragout, Greek yoghurt, chorizo sausage, and a slice of sourdough toast.

Baked eggs with tomato pepper ragout, Greek yoghurt and chorizo sausages.

Baked eggs with tomato pepper ragout, Greek yoghurt and chorizo sausages.

I have to say that it was pretty yummy. The tomato ragout thing was a little overbearing and perhaps made the dish too wet, but the chorizo dipped in the yoghurt and egg yolk was divine. The barely there sourdough bread, I could have done without.

cara8

My friend ordered wholewheat toast topped with avocado, chilli, lemon and olive oil along with a side of scrambled eggs.

Wholewheat toast topped with avocado, chilli, lemon and oil; with a side of scrambled eggs.

Wholewheat toast topped with avocado, chilli, lemon and oil; with a side of scrambled eggs.

I don’t care what she says, she didn’t enjoy it. Apparently it was just the toast that was “rock hard”, but everything else was “lovely”. So “lovely” that she left half of it on her plate, hahaha.

This bread has had a tough life

This bread has had a tough life

What I did like about Caravan is that the food arrived relatively promptly despite how large and busy the place was, and also, we were not rushed to leave or anything soon after we’d eaten, despite the queue of about 50 – 75 diners impatiently waiting to be seated. We lounged around and chatted for a while, and left when we were ready. Would I come here again? Possibly, because it was nice and relaxed. But £9.50 for an egg and sausage dish is a tad too steep. These days, it seems if you have a no-booking policy, you can get away with some ‘creative’ pricing.

SAM_2318

