The Ruby Slipper Cafe

Stopped to have some breakfast at The Ruby Slipper Cafe on a very hot weekday morning in New Orleans. Their official brunch menu is only available on weekends but they still had a pretty good all day breakfast menu on offer.

The Ruby Slipper Cafe

The cafe has a real colonial feel to it with high ceilings, pillars and large arched windows. I ordered the Pain Perdu which means ‘lost bread’ and is a French bread-based French toast served with bacon. I opted to have it without the Banana Foster topping as I’m not really a raisin person. It came with a bit more bacon than you can see in the picture, but I kinda started eating before I took the picture. It was crispy perfection. I’m not entirely sure about French toast made with French bread. It was quite yummy, but I was thinking maybe a little too soft and not quite thick enough?

Pain Perdu

To drink, I had a Ruby Slipper mimosa (which has a dash of pomegranate juice in it) and a Bloody Mary (which comes with beans rather than celery). It wasn’t blended exceptionally well but still quite refreshing.

Bloody Mary NOLA style

And this just made me smile when I imagined it being said in a Louisiana accent:

 

