Buttercup Cupcakes

Buttercup: Vanilla Purist, Red Velvet, Oreo

I think my favourite cupcakes in London are the ones from Buttercup Cake Shop. They honestly have theee cutest cupcakes. And I’ll probably get stoned for saying this, but I think they’re better than Hummingbird. Whenever I’m shopping at Westfield, I always walk past their stall just to stare for a while. And I sometimes (often) buy a cupcake. The cupcakes are very rich and I remember thinking the icing to cake ratio of the Oreo cupcake was not quite right (could feel my arteries clogging as I bit into pure icing), but they’re still really soft and generally quite delicious. I also think visually, they look much better than Hummingbird’s (check out their website and you’ll know what I mean).

I first discovered Buttercup a few years ago when I was looking for cupcakes for my birthday. I ordered a box (or 2?) of 16 minis and at the time it was just £16 (now £19). They work very well with alcohol.

Buttercup Birthday

And this is what they look like after being dragged around all night in a drunken stupor.

Drunken Cakes

