Begneits and the Desire to Die in New Orleans

The icing sugar laden begneits at the world famous Cafe du Monde in New Orleans. No trip to New Orleans is evidently complete without a visit to this place, so I went. It was actually my very first stop.

Cafe du Monde

They came out piping hot within minutes and neither of us said anything for a second. We just stared. At all the icing sugar. All of a sudden the coating of white powder that seemed to be everywhere made sense. People weren’t just careless eaters, the begneits came covered in more icing sugar than one could possibly ever desire to consume in any given 24 hour period. I can’t imagine how much icing sugar they must get through in a single day. Insane.

Begneits

So the begneits are ordered in threes (we shared) and are essentially rectangular pieces of deep fried dough that are then covered with the icing sugar. The cynic in me would say it’s a glorified doughnut. Taste-wise, they were definitely nicer once they’d cooled down. But seriously, there’s nothing more to say. If you’re British, then you’ll understand what I mean when I say it reminded me of a yum-yum (I wonder what genius came up with that name).

Heart Attack

Interestingly, I’m not sure begneits are the best thing to be eating in The New Orleans Heat (heat with a capital ‘h’, yes). The ceiling fans were spinning tirelessly, making no difference whatsoever to my increasing desire to die instantly rather than endure one more moment of this melting. Eating a hot doughnut whilst melting, surprisingly not on my list of to-dos.

What did manage to amuse me were the waiters. So obviously resentful of the silly uniforms they were required to wear. Hehe.

Ain’t Life a Hoot?

