Burgers and Fashion: GBK @ AFW

Last weekend was African Fashion Week. I was quite disappointed as the fashion on display was generally quite confusing (read quite dated) and I know we have better African designers than those I saw on Saturday. We took a break from criticizing the clothes and popped into Gourmet Burger Kitchen at Spitalfields, London.

For some reason, I’ve had this negative impression of GBK for the longest time. I’m not quite sure why, but I think it may have something to do with a visit I made many years ago when I was still a student and felt quite disgusted by the fact that I had to pay separately for the fries, haha. It appears I have subconsciously stayed away since then.

As my expectations were fairly low, I was pleasantly surprised. I ordered rosemary fries and The Frenchie Burger.

Rosemary fries

I have to say, these fries were pretty damn amazing. Well in theory, anyway. In reality, the flavour of the rosemary didn’t really penetrate into the fries and I found myself nibbling the bits of rosemary to get the full taste. After I did that and added some salt, they were really quite yummy.

The Frenchie

The Frenchie comes in a brioche bun, with Gorgonzola, crispy bacon, onion jam, salad and relish. The onion jam is what really made this burger: nice and sweet with a little tang. And it had bits in it so didn’t taste like processed jelly. When it comes to burgers, I just honestly feel that a cheese, together with a sweet onion is the perfect combination. The bun was a little flakier than I’d have liked, but didn’t detract from the overall yumminess.

The Frenchie

My friend, who is generally quite boring, opted for a plain old cheese burger…yawwwwwn.

Cheese Burger

African Fashion Week – Brigitte Merki

This was one of the less offensive shows.

