Dollar Grills

Nothing quite hits the spot like a burger, my recent (or maybe not so recent) obsession. It doesn’t help that I’m surrounded by similarly greedy individuals who further encourage this fascination. Friends who have no problem eating a burger a day. Friends I should probably distance myself from.

Dollar Grill

Dollar Grill

These uh-mazing burgers are from a restaurant near Exmouth Market, London, called Dollar Grills and Martinis. The one I ate is called the Ten Dollar burger (incidentally priced at £10) and I can honestly say it’s the best burger I’ve ever had (and my greedy ass has had A LOT).

Ten Dollar Burger

Ten Dollar Burger

I was a little nervous that it was undercooked for me when it came out, but if anything, it was all the more juicy for it. The burger is made up of the usual plus caramelised onions, gruyere, and rosemary aioli. Aioli is essentially a poncey way of saying mayonnaise, but this aioli really made the difference. I really have a thing for sweet and savoury combined (I call it sweet and meat), so the burgers from this restaurant all coming in a brioche bun was a real thumbs up for me.

Ten Dollar Burger

Ten Dollar Burger

The sweetness of the brioche bun with the caramelised onions and the ailoli just makes one big drippy, melty, messy as hell taste sensation. I could not fault it. Honest to God, it is the perfect burger. I almost died.

Hot Lips

Hot Lips

What brought me back to life was this jalapeno cocktail (well, not quite). Turns out jalapeno infused tequila is better in theory than in practice. I struggled. I don’t recall finishing it. Serves me right for trying to be adventurous.

Happy Hour

Happy Hour

I should probably also mention that we don’t have a drinking problem, it’s just that they do a Happy Hour everyday until 7pm where you get 2-4-1 on cocktails, so we kinda stocked up. Just saying.

