Meatliquor

So, to demonstrate the extent of my greediness, that little cupcake from Lola’s came after all of THIS at Meatliquor. So yeah, I really do overeat.

Greed

Greed

Now if you’re a Londoner and have never been to Meatliquor; like why?!? This place does things to me that very few other places have ever achieved. It is just one messy concoction of Greed and Excess. It is amazing. It’s like a seedy, back alley dive bar type of place in which you wouldn’t wanna be seen, except everybody in London’s already there. One of those pop ups that’s now a proper restaurant.

There were four of us and we ate like it was going out of style. We started with the deep fried pickles (Yeah I know, not my choice, but my friend was insistent they were amazing…in reality, just little bites of Heart Attack) and buffalo wings with blue cheese dip. Now I should mention that I don’t really eat chicken on the bone, but I sure as hell make an exception at Meatliquor. I even finger-lick the tray. Yup. The wings are just amazing, they have like this spicy, vinegary kick, but I can’t seem to figure out what the ingredients are. Anybody else have any ideas??

Deep fried pickles with blue cheese dip

Deep fried pickles with blue cheese dip

Buffalo chicken wings with blue cheese dip

Buffalo chicken wings with blue cheese dip

So then our fries and onion rings came out. Each onion ring was like the size of my head. And because we were obviously not consuming enough calories, my sister thought it best that we order cheese fries as opposed to regular. Really.

Onion rings

Onion rings

Cheese fries

Cheese fries

In all honesty, by the time the burgers came, I was pretty damn full. But it would be rude not to finish. So I did. Most of us had the green chili cheeseburger (nice and spicy) and I think the other was the Dead Hippie burger, which was also quite yummy. I wouldn’t come here on a date, cuz seriously, no one comes out of this looking good (though the darkness of the restaurant helps). The burgers are sooo messy, but that’s part of what makes them so divine. Gosh, I’m sighing just thinking about them. And the menu seems to have grown a little since I was last there, so there’s definitely something for everyone (the philly cheesesteak is pretty damn edible and I hear their chicken burgers are to die for).

Green chili cheeseburger

Green chili cheeseburger

Green chili and Dead Hippie

Green chili and Dead Hippie

Almost done

Almost done

Going on a Sunday afternoon also meant there were no queues (phew). Or maybe it’s just because the hype has kinda died and most people have had their share. So yeah, a definite must if you’re ever in London. If only to feel so full it’s positively uncomfortable. And coming out into the bright sunlight (it was a fluke moment) all dazed after the dark moody red lighting of the restaurant, just reaffirms the stomach-altering experience you’ve just gone through. We didn’t talk for a while after that.

Meatliquor - interior

Meatliquor – interior

Meatliquor - interior

Meatliquor – interior

If you’ve been to Meatliquor before, what have you eaten, and is there anything from their menu you’d recommend for my next visit?

